Dr. Amanda Black

Dr. Black hails from Ottawa and is a Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology at The University of Ottawa.  She completed her medical training at the University of Western Ontario, The University of Ottawa and Queen’s University, and obtained her Master of Public Health at Johns Hopkins University.  She holds appointments at The Ottawa Hospital and CHEO and is an Associate Scientist at the Ottawa Hospital Research Institute (OHRI).  

She was previously Vice President of the SOGC Board of Directors and also sits on the Board of Salus Global.  She has authored many national guidelines, developed educational programs including those for health care providers and the public. She has also presented nationally and internationally and authored numerous publications in her field. 
Dr. Black holds the Dr. Elaine Jolly Chair in Women’s Health Research at The University of Ottawa.  She has participated in a number of international clinical trials, database studies, and investigator-led clinical studies.  Her research focuses on new contraceptive methods, contraceptive use and trends in Canada, access to family planning services, and adolescent sexual health. 

Chief Executive Officer


Dr. Diane Francoeur

Dr. Diane Francoeur has been a highly accomplished Obstetrician-Gynecologist for more than 30 years and as a fierce advocate for women and health care providers, she continues to serve her community as a practicing OB/GYN to this day.

Dr. Francoeur has been responsible for leading all specialties in Quebec as the health care system navigates the devastation of the COVID-19 pandemic and understands the needs of women's health specialists throughout this difficult climate.

Dr. Francoeur was the CEO and served as the first woman president of the Federation of Medical Specialists of Québec (FMSQ), completing all mandates. She continues to work as an associate professor in the OB/GYN department at CHU Ste-Justine, affiliated with the University of Montreal and is a strong champion of women’s rights, physician’s leadership, and healthcare management.

She is a graduate of the Université Laval with a doctorate in medicine, completed the Director' education program at McGill University and graduated from Harvard University with a Master's degree in Health Care Management.

Dr. Francoeur's academic background has been a driving standard of care in her obstetrical practice and in the boardroom.

Board of Directors

The SOGC Board of Directors provides oversight for the governance and strategic planning of the Society. Dynamic, skill-based board members are nominated and elected by the membership at large.

The SOGC has a vibrant, multi-disciplinary Board of Directors for 2023/2024 from across Canada:

Dr. Amanda Black- President
Dr. R. Douglas Wilson - Past President
Dr. Lynn Murphy-Kaulbeck - President Elect
Dr. Hussam Azzam - Treasurer
Dr. Brent Jim - Director of the Board
Dr. Kim Butler - Director of the Board
Ms. Melanie Basso - Director of the Board
Dr. Nicholas Leyland - Director of the Board
Dr. Venu Jain - Director of the Board
Dr. Diane Francoeur - Chief Executive Officer
Dr. Jocelynn Cook - Chief Scientific Officer